We’d like more content for this section. Can you share some history of area churches? Please contact us.

Clergymen of 1888:

  • Samuel H. Dana, Pastor of First Union Congregational Church. Born in Portland, Maine.
  • William Schlinkmann, Pastor of St. Peter’s Evangelical Lutheran Church. Born June 4, 1858 in Westphalia, Germany.
  • Herbert H. Branch, Pastor of First Baptist Church. Born February 6, 1854 at Mt. Gilead, Ohio.
  • William B. Corbyn, Rector of Church of the Good Shepherd. Born in 1814 in Windsor, CT.
  • Louis Von Rague, Pastor of Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church. Born in 1838 in Westphalia.
  • R. M. Harrison, Pastor of Vermont Street Baptist Church. Born May 6, 1852.
  • George H. Yarnall, Rector of Church of the Good Shepherd. Born in Philadelphia March 7, 1858.
  • Clarence H. Leman, Dean of Cathedral of St. John, born in Charleston, SC.
  • Joseph P. McIntyre, Pastor of Trinity M. E. Church. Born in 1858 in Selkirk, Scotland.
  • Stephen H. Whitlock, Elder of the M. E. District, born Bachman, Ohio, April 27, 1836.
  • Alexander C. Byerly, Pastor Vermont Street M. E. Church, born Aug. 21, 1845 in Johnson County, IN.
  • Robert V. Atkisson, Pastor First Presbyterian Church, born in 1851 in Farmington, TN

Adams County IL Church History and Church Records